Skip to content

Exploring What Interests Them

February 9, 2013

Choose Your Own Post Quiz ActivityThe day before we take a quiz in class, I remind students that they can bring in their earphones if they want so they can use apps on the iPad that have sound. If they don’t have earphones to bring in, they can explore other apps.  This allows students who have finished a quiz to engage in independent learning or creative time without distracting those who are still taking the quiz.

The image above illustrates some of the apps they explored:

  • Hansel and Gretel 3D Pop up Book – ($4.99) It was free when I got it and planned to use it with one of my courses for a communication activity that involved voice inflection. I think the post quiz users just wanted the little games with the pages of the story.
  • iCell – Students were exploring cells in 7th grade science and this helped them support their learning there
  • PicCollage – Creative time! Add images and words
  • Google Earth – As a school district that serves a military base, I frequently have students looking for where they used to live then calling me over to see it

I feel fortunate that I have the tools to let students explore their interests following taxing some of their brains with a quiz.

From → iPad Classroom

One Comment
  1. free ipad

    Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I’m inspired! Extremely useful info specially the ultimate phase 🙂 I handle such information much. I was looking for this certain information for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

